Almost Here!

Well, The Spero Project is almost live.  And I keep getting more and more excited!  I know it’s really nothing fancy, especially in this initial stage.  Anyone could pull together the information, I realize.  But, having led some small groups and having worked at a church and having been on staff at a nonprofit organization during college, I’m becoming aware of how beneficial this could be after all.   

This morning I was thinking about all the volunteer Youth Pastors there are out there.  They are so committed that they work a full-time job AND volunteer as a Youth Pastor.  And, anyone I know who’s been a Youth Pastor can tell you that job in itself is much more than full time.  I really hope this gives them quick access to some ideas to do with their groups, events to attend, and some encouragement about what God is doing all across the globe.  More time for relationships with students.  Less time researching, scouring the web for ideas.  That’s good.

And, I’ve been thinking about all the times I’ve heard about a nonprofit organization over and over and don’t really get how amazing they are until I do a little bit of volunteer work there.  Then I’m sold and I tell everyone about it.  By allowing a small group to partner with them on some ‘little’ tasks, these organizations could be getting some life-long advocates.  Who knows?

Like I said, I know it’s too simple to get this excited over.  But, I love when people come together to accomplish something!  And, the plans for The Spero Project are ever evolving each time we come together with friends, ministry leaders, and representatives from nonprofit organizations.  What if we came together to do a Nonprofit Makeover?  We used IT gurus, graphic artists, interior design students or professionals, etc., and together made a nonprofit more marketable, more comfortable for the clients and staff, AND more effective in their technology/databases/etc.?!?!?  What if we were able to partner small groups with refugee families that have come here from all over the world, specifically caring for that family and advocating for their children to receive all the help they need to thrive in school, and for their parents to gain skills to help them thrive in the workplace?!?!?!?  

There are unending ideas of how we can all partner together to impact OKC.  And to literally change the world.  I’m such a little kid about this stuff that I think it can be done.  Jesus wants restoration and reconciliation all over.  I’m sure of that.  So, I say we join in!

Leave a Reply

